Book review: “The Hunger Games” -NO SPOILERS!

To be completely honest, The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins  was one of my favorite books that I have read for a really long time.

My lazy ass won’t allow me to write a short retelling of the plot, but I have attached one that I have found online.

In a dystopian future, the totalitarian nation of Panem is divided between 12 districts and the Capitol. Each year two young representatives from each district are selected by lottery to participate in The Hunger Games. Part entertainment, part brutal retribution for a past rebellion, the televised games are broadcast throughout Panem. The 24 participants are forced to eliminate their competitors while the citizens of Panem are required to watch. When 16-year-old Katniss’s young sister, Prim, is selected as District 12’s female representative, Katniss volunteers to take her place. She and her male counterpart Peeta, are pitted against bigger, stronger representatives, some of whom have trained for this their whole lives.
– Written by Suzanne Collins

To begin with, the plot was extremely well developed and narrated. It has been a long time since I have read such a well written story. And you can’t imagine how happy and sad that makes me. It makes me happy that such great works of art exist and it makes me extremely sad that there aren’t more such books as this.The author managed to tell the story so well that it gave me so many emotions that I thought had a problem. Honestly, it is one of those books that will give you chills and be happy at the same time, and probably will make you question your sanity.

The characters were extremely well put on the paper. Reading their description felt like looking at a picture of them in detail; obviously the fact that I had seen the movie helped as well, but it didn’t really mater because they were really well described.

I took the book everywhere with me and took it out at every time I had a spare moment to read. It doesn’t matter where you are, when you listen to some good music and you read The Hunger Games I sear it will give you chills. I know it gave me. 

We arrived to that part where I have to recommend this book. Well…I really don’t know who to recommend it to. I could recommend it to everyone really!! Child, middle aged or elder it doesn’t even matter, I am sure you will 100% love it if you love dystopian books, but I am sure that you have read it already if you love the genre. If you have not read it yet, you are either insane or don’t like the genre, either way you should give it a try and I can assure you that you will like it even if it is just a bit.

I am really sorry if you didn’t like my sorry ass of a review. I am not really good at it but I really liked this book and I felt like sharing.

And, before I forget, I have to thank my lovely friend overseas, Carol, who made it possible for me to read this great book. So, thaaaaaank youuuu Carol, love you!!!

Until next time, take care,
Lexi!!! xxxxx

One thought on “Book review: “The Hunger Games” -NO SPOILERS!

  1. Anytime Love! Anytime. You ready for the 3rd one now? I’m very very proud of you Baby Girl! Biggest of hugs and much love, Your Cyber Granny, Carol.

Leave a Reply

