Movie review: “The Help”

As homework for my English class I had to review the movie The Help, and I liked it so much that I thought I’d post my review here as well. But as a bonus to my class review, I will add some thoughts that are a bit to personal to be added in a formal review. [And yes, I am ashamed to admit that I had to have a homework about it in order to watch this movie.]

My class task was to “point out the differences made between the skin colored people and the white population, based only on the movie”.

thehelpIn “The Help”, we are presented with one of the most important issues of our time. One that was fortunately resolved a long time ago—racial discrimination.

“The Help” does a great job at presenting on screen every part of the lives of the African-American maids during the civil rights movement of the 1960s.

In the movie, we see the effects of racial discrimination. The African-American women are treated like the lowest ranges of people and are believed to not be good for anything but to help around the house.

Everything is done separately. The African-American people went to different churches than the white race, and they lived in different parts of the city. They were even considered contagious and the southern white women had special bathrooms built where the black skinned maids could go to.

To everyone’s relief, Skeeter, a white young woman—raised by an African-American maid—wanted to help the maids get their story out into the world. She managed to gather a large group of maids that each told their story and then she wrote a book with all them put together under an anonymous name.

All in all, the adaptation of the novel “The Help” managed to put on the screen the very impressive and touching story of the lives of African-American people during the early 1960s. The way white people treated dark skinned people repulsed me and made me want to personally apologize to anyone that was discriminated against in one way or another because of their skin color.

I’ve actually given my review to a friend from Texas that lived in the 60s to proof read it.  And I found out some interesting things that I didn’t know and maybe no one could have told them to me.

Sure, I could tell that in the movie, the maids somehow indulge in this lifestyle that consists of living separately from the white people. But I thought that they tolerated it because they couldn’t endure more discrimination, but apparently they did it because they actually liked living in other parts of the city, and it still happens to this day.

Of course, I am in no position to judge or say what actually happened, but if it really were like this then why did not Hollywood make sure that would appear somehow in the movie. I know that The Help is made after a novel, but  even so, if the discrimination goes both ways, than why protect some and blame the others?

Again, I am not fit to judge what people do or say, but I don’t think is fair to either of the parts to put the blame on a part and victimize the other, because it could be the other way round, or even not like that at all.

The Help is a movie inspired after the novel with the same name, so I don’t know if in the novel is said “Based on a true story”, but if does, than I would have liked to hear both parts points of view.

Now please don’t hate me for this, but it was what I thought after I heard what my friend had to say about the movie.

Until next time,
Lexi :)! xxxxx

P.S. Even though I had some negative comments about the movie’s accuracy to details and information, I really enjoyed it. All the actors did a tremendous job, the script was very nicely made so you wouldn’t lose interest in the movie at any time, and the way it was filmed and the chromatics were much more than I expected.

2 thoughts on “Movie review: “The Help”

  1. I agree with all your points! Emma Stone was awesome in this film, I love that she can be in comedies and be serious as well.

Leave a Reply

