Movie review “The Hunger Games: Catching Fire”

Plot summary:

jennifer-lawrence-catching-fire-poster-610x903

A year after winning the 74th Hunger Games, Katniss Everdeen and her partner, Peeta Mellark must go on what is known as the Victor’s Tour wherein they visit all the districts. But before leaving, Katniss is visited by President Snow who fears that Katniss defied him a year ago during the games when she chose to die with Peta. With both Katniss and Peeta declared the winners, it is fueling a possible uprising. He tells Katniss that while on tour she better try to make sure that she puts out the flames or else everyone she cares about will be in danger. But unfortunately she fails to do that. So Snow decides to enact what is known as the Quarter Quell, the right to make a change to the Hunger Games, which he is allowed to do every 25 years. He decides to hold an edition of the Hunger Games wherein previous winners will compete again. Their mentor Haymitch thinks their best chance to survive is form an alliance with some of the others. They decide to align themselves with Finnick and his partner, Mags. But Snow is secretly hoping Katniss will be killed.

My review:

I am trying to not give out anything big that happens in the movie, meaning that I am trying to proof my review from any spoilers.

I am just going to say that I thought it was better than the first movie, and I wasn’t expecting this at all. I wish I have gone to see it sooner, and also I wish I would have gotten to write this review sooner. I saw this movie on the 30th of November, so I am reaaaallyy late with my review and I bet that by now you can see the movie online, but oh well…

I honestly don’t have much to say about it other than that I loved it, and it left me speechless. I went to see it with a friend that didn’t see the first part, but she liked it a lot, and promised to watch the first movie as well.

I have not read the books, but I am planning to in the near future because the movie was really enticing, just like the first one actually. I sat on the edge of my seat the whole time, and I wanted to cry when it ended. I wish it would have lasted longer…At least I am happy to know that Mockingjay Part 1 is being filmed as I write this post.

The characters were veeery nicely interpreted by Jennifer Lawrence, Josh Hutcherson, Woody Harrelson, Elizabeth Banks, Stanley Tucci and Donald Sutherland and many others. These were the ones that held the action alive-obviously- and that were the most charismatic in my opinion.

Also I hated not knowing who will Katniss end up with! I really need to read the books, because between Peeta and Gale I cannot choose, and I’d like to know how the author planned their fates before I see Mockingjay at the cinema.

The cinematography was absolutely beautiful, it sometimes still amazes me what can be done on a computer. The CGI was very nicely done and the details were amazing. Also, the costumes of the characters were very beautiful and complex, and I cannot wait to read the book to make my own image of them and see if they are how I imagined them.

And do not get me started about the plot. It was absolutely flawless, and very well thought. I bet in the books it is so much better, but this will have to do for now. I really liked the flow of it, it had a really nice continuity, and everything made sense put together. 😀

I really liked “Hunger Games” but “Catching Fire” definitely is better. I hardly can wait until Mockingjay Part 1 so I can see if it beats “Catching Fire” or not.

Definitely go and see this movie if it still is at your local cinema, and if not, watch it online or buy the DVD and watch it at home with your family and friends.

 

Rating: 5 out of 5

Until next time, stay tight,

Lexi xxxxxxxx! 🙂

 

One thought on “Movie review “The Hunger Games: Catching Fire”

  1. Pingback: The Hunger Games: Catching Fire!!!! | TheTrillestWinter

Leave a Reply

