Books

New books are always so nice to buy and get as a present. The feel of a new unopened book is fantastic. Let alone the smell—yes, I am one of those people who like to smell their books. *grin*

Going to a library and borrowing a book is good for when you aren’t sure you really want to invest in that book, but seeing as my local library has almost no books in English, I mostly buy mine. I personally like buying books and seeing my own little bookshelf get filled with my favorites.

Even though I like reading on my tablet, I find reading a lot more satisfying when you have an actual book in your hand. For me it is such a thrill to turn the page after a cliffhanger, to have that joy of finishing a chapter and turning the page to a new one. Also, I feel like you forget what books you have in your collection on the tablet, whilst with actual books you can see them neatly arranged on your bookshelf.  In other words, I am again a bit oldschool and I say that I would give anything to exchange an ebook for a real one.

I ordered three books from The Book Depository as a Christmas present, and I cannot wait for them to arrive. I bought the first book from The Mortal Instruments: The City of Bones. Yes, I feel bad for watching the movie before reading the book, but I wanted to be sure that I would like the series before I bought the books and now I am definitely sure I will enjoy it.

City_of_Bones

The second book I bought is Etiquette & Espionage by Gail Carriger. This book has been on my to be purchased list for a really long time and I felt an immense need to read it. Also, I think this book is underrated so I will attach its summary so you can check it out…if you want.

Fourteen-year-old Sophronia is the bane of her mother’s existence. Sophronia is more interested in dismantling clocks and climbing trees than proper etiquette at tea–and god forbid anyone see her atrocious curtsy. Mrs. Temminnick is desperate for her daughter to become a proper lady. She enrolls Sophronia in Mademoiselle Geraldine’s Finishing Academy for Young Ladies of Quality.

But little do Sophronia or her mother know that this is a school where ingenious young girls learn to finish, all right–but it’s a different kind of finishing. Mademoiselle Geraldine’s certainly trains young ladies in the finer arts of dance, dress, and etiquette, but also in the other kinds of finishing: the fine arts of death, diversion, deceit, espionage, and the modern weaponries. Sophronia and her friends are going to have a rousing first year at school.etiquette-1

When I was placing my order for the first two books, I saw the new paperback of the books and decided, on a whim, to buy the first one in the series and that’s how I bought the new paperback copy of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. *Hangs head in shame* Yes, I haven’t read the HP series yet. I tried to read them a long time ago in Romanian, but I felt that they were poorly translated and didn’t try to read them again until now. Anyway, I am a big fan of HP and I cannot wait to start reading it.

HARRY-POTTER-AND-THE-SORCERERS-STONE_510x777

So this is my short ramble for today, I felt like I needed to share my last shopping spree with someone. Tell me what were the last physical books you have bought?

Until next time,

Lexi xx 🙂

One thought on “Books

  1. Pingback: Christmas Presents | Lexi rambles a lot

Leave a Reply

